Cyberwanderer’s Blog

August 24, 2008

Olympic and CBC vs NBC’s coverage

Filed under: Canada,World News — cyberwanderer @ 8:28 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I love Olympics. I remember as a kid, I always look forward to the Olympic. They are always awe inspiring and seems to lift people’s spirit. This time is no different. However, I am very disappointed in CBC’s coverage. I always loved their road stories about the people and culture of the host country. But this time they are stuck with the negative side of things. While I watched CBC most of the time, I did tune into NBC a few times and what they have is way much better and more of a party atmosphere. I used to rile about NBC’s olympic coverage so I did not expect to be doing the opposite for this Olympic. NBC’s Olympic Zone offered stories about the Chinese and their culture. Including kite flying where one kite being flown is a long dragon. Their Today’s show was there the whole Olympic but I only catched couple of their episode including the last one. They offered a party atmosphere along with happy and friendly interaction with the people of Beijing or the Americans and athletes who were in Beijing. They offered stories and news which gave a glimpse about the Chinese and their culture that we did not know about.

Meanwhile, CBC’s take is more negative and very unlike their past Olympic coverage. They started their coverage by complaining about how small their space is and enviously comparing it to the Mexican’s who was relaying their broadcast signal for the whole Latin America. The worse is when they try to suggest tonight that the smiles and greetings of the Chinese people were fake and forced by their government to do so. I found their earlier story about the on call cheerleading team amusing and interesting. But their suggestion and questioning of the Chinese enthusiasm seems a bit too ignorant. Their staff who ran this Olympic is probably not the same as the last one. But what is it with the negativity. Peter Mansbridge was smirking as he talked with a reporter in Beijing about the injury suffered by the Chinese acclaimed hero Liu Xiang. Perhaps he found people crying over Liu Xiang’s injury as pretty funny rather than actually smirking at Liu’s being injured. The commentary for the opening ceremony is better in NBC. They explained a lot of stuff like what the Chinese writing are and who’s that little boy with Yao Ming. CBC is pretty quiet a lot of times. Maybe it’s due to change of staff or lower budget since it’s their last Olympic.

So as CBC lose the broadcast rights to CTV starting with Vancouver’s Olympic, I could only hope that CTV would do a better job.

2 Comments »

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one that found CBC’s coverage off-putting. I couldn’t believe that I would actually prefer NBC’s and find it more informed about China. I caught some of Cross Country Check-up today, about Canadian athletes and the Olympics, and I was amazed by the number of callers who praised CBC’s coverage. I will say that CBC Radio was pretty efficient and timely with their updates but the crew behind their television coverage did not deserve that much praise.

    Comment by Beijing York — August 24, 2008 @ 9:17 pm | Reply

  2. I thought Ron McLean’s parting message after his mother died and his message from Toronto at the end were very classy and professional.

    Comment by PM — August 24, 2008 @ 11:12 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

